The Melissa and Doug Train Engineer Role Play Costume Set Review

Product Review of the Melissa and Doug Train Engineer Role Play Costume Set - www.kidslovedressup.comThe Melissa and Doug brand of dress up role play costumes is well known to be simply, good stuff.  But is the Melissa and Doug Train Engineer Role Play Costume Set as good as the other super popular costume sets?  Let’s take a good look at this one.

The Melissa and Doug Train Engineer Role Play Costume Set

 

Like the other role play costume sets in the Melissa and Doug line, the Train Engineer set comes with one main costume part (in this case, an apron/overalls), one hat, and several accessories that help with role play fun.

The Melissa & Doug Train Engineer Role Play Costume Set includes the following:

 

  • The Melissa and Doug Train Engineer Role Play Costume Set Review - www.kidslovedressup.comEngineer’s Smock/Overalls
  • Engineer’s Hat
  • Train schedule card – plastic
  • Hammer for fixing train tracks when there’s a need
  • Wrench for tightening loose bolts on the tracks
  • Walkie-talkie that has fun sound effects
  • A name tag for pencil personalization.

General Product Specs

 

  • Price: runs usually between $20-$30
  • Best Deal: Found at Amazon.com — usually with free shipping on top of the lowest price too! 🙂
  • Customer Rating:  4.7/5 stars by over 130 reviewers.  (Side note: I review a lot of costumes on this site – 4.7 is almost the highest you’ll find for any costume. This one had zero 1 or 2 star reviews… and only 7 “3-stars”, which were due to batteries dying in the walkie-talkie, or sizing concerns.)
  • Manufacturer’s Age Recommendation: 3-6 years

 

 

Product Information and FAQs

 

I actually read through EVERY comment, Q&A, and review on this item over at Amazon for you and summarized the findings below. I hope you find it helpful!

The Overalls

  • The Melissa and Doug Train Engineer Role Play Costume Set Review - www.kidslovedressup.comIs the costume well made? YES! The costume is thick – it‘s good quality material (NOT thin polyester), with strong stitching. Reviews say it will stand up to lots of playing and multiple washes. The buttons are sewn on tightly, and the pockets are made of a thick clear plastic that won’t rip easily.
  • Are the overalls machine-washable?  YES!
  • Is there a tool belt? No. The big pockets and belt give the look of a tool belt – your child can put all of the accessories into those pockets, and more!
  • Will the overalls fit my child? The straps and belt are adjustable so they will fit most children!
  • Will my child be able to put it on by himself, or will I need to help him? No zippers, snaps, or the like… just Velcro on the sides! He/she should easily be able to put it on by him/herself!

The Hat

  • The back of the hat has elastic in it, so it can fit most children’s heads comfortably.

The Walkie-Talkie

  • Requires one 9-volt battery (not included)
  • Makes “train noises” and lights up.

The Accessories

  • The hammer and wrench are plastic, but decent for lots of “train fixing” and “track building”.
  • The name tag and train schedule are plastic coated and dry erasable.

 


My own evaluation: 

I’m giving this a full 5 stars!  The Melissa and Doug Train Engineer Role Play Costume Set is a solid buy.

Like all of the Melissa and Doug role play sets, this one is great quality, comes with fun accessories, looks sharp, and basically, your child can get a LOT of play time out of it before it starts to look ratty.

You should seriously consider adding this one to the dress up collection IF:

  • you have a boy or girl who is really into trains (playing with, watching, etc.)
  • you have a child who loves role playing “when I grow up”
  • you are a pre-school or early years teacher who wants something fun for a dramatic play center
  • you have a “Thomas the Tank Engine” lover in your house
  • your child loves the “Polar Express” book/movie
  • your child needs a costume for Career Day at school
  • you want to encourage active and creative play

 

 

Anything you’d like to add to this review? What do YOU think, if you own this one already? I’d love to hear from you… please comment below!

Cheers,

Marlaine


Check out some of my other reviews!

Please follow and like us:

16 thoughts on “The Melissa and Doug Train Engineer Role Play Costume Set Review

  1. Chris December 15, 2016 at 1:49 am

    Thank you for the great review! It looks like a very complete set that kids would love to play with. Especially with the tools included, I know when I was that age I loved playing with toy tools and pretending I was fixing things. Are the walkie talkies functional for communicating with each other, or do they just do sound effects?

    • Marlaine December 15, 2016 at 1:47 pm

      Hi Chris,
      The walkie talkie is actually more like a sounds effects radio – there’s only one in the costume kit. It’s more for roleplaying than actual communication. Great question!
      Cheers,
      Marlaine

  2. Øssur Eysturoy December 16, 2016 at 1:53 pm

    Hi Marlaine!
    What a great and well written review!
    Those overalls would make great Christmas presents for my kids. LOVE the tools!!
    I have two daughters and a son, 4,6 and 9 years old, and even though they have tons of toys, the only things they ever use, are those in the costume closet. They LOVE role playing and I know this would be a great addition to their role playing wardrobe that as of now, only consists of various princess dresses, and superhero costumes.

    Excellent!
    Ossur

  3. Dan December 17, 2016 at 10:37 pm

    Aww cute costume! $20-30 sounds like a very reasonable price especially when you say the material is thick. I’m so used to costumes costing $80 and being paper thin, so its nice to know that you have access to much better quality costumes. Merry Christmas and a happy new year!

    • Marlaine December 19, 2016 at 12:57 pm

      Hi Dan,
      Yes, the material is thick, and the stitching is well done! Melissa and Doug Costumes are good quality – we have the fire chief set and the doctor set, and I think they’re going to really last a while!
      Merry Christmas to you and yours as well!
      Marlaine

  4. Lauren Kinghorn December 18, 2016 at 5:49 am

    Hi Marlaine, stunning review! Thanks for doing all the legwork for us by sifting through all the Amazon reviews and providing such a concise, value packed summary. Trust Melissa & Doug to come up with such high quality gear.
    My 3 year old son is totally into roleplay at the moment. His first love is dirt bike riding on his black buzz bike. He fancies himself as a hard enduro rider and likes to challenge himself with tricky places to ride – sand dunes, over tyres, branches, rocks, tree stumps etc. Of course this means he also has to look the part.
    Even in the heat of Summer he insists on wearing gum boots. He straps on cycling gloves and builders safety goggles.
    Would love to find him a proper kit complete with biking helmet that is lightweight. Have you come across a scrambling outfit for toddlers?

    • Marlaine December 19, 2016 at 12:55 pm

      Oh wow… sounds like your son is a busy little guy! No doubt your heart has stopped a few times watching his stunts! 🙂
      I can’t say I’ve seen anything like what you’re describing, but perhaps the closest I’ve seen to it would be the race car driver outfit on my “Role Play Costumes for Boys” page?
      Thanks for commenting! Have a fabulous day yet!
      Marlaine

  5. Dragan December 18, 2016 at 2:16 pm

    Hi Marlaine!

    I work with children with special needs.

    Although some of them may not one day become pilots, engineers or other professionals, they certainly have their wishes and dreams. I know one boy who has cerebral palsy and if he could he would became a pilot. He likes to visit museums with planes, learn about them, and he would also like to wear a pilot’s uniform.

    I believe that one of these children would love to be a train engineer.

    So if I find someone who want to be this kind of professional, this costume could be a great birthday present.

    Thank you for your excellent review!

    • Marlaine December 18, 2016 at 4:09 pm

      That must be incredibly rewarding work, Dragan!
      If you’re interested, there’s an awesome pilot role playing costume set at Role-Playing Boys Costumes – the boy you’re thinking of might love it!
      Cheers,
      Marlaine

  6. James Kelly December 19, 2016 at 10:13 pm

    Wow I was blown away by this extremely attractive, well written and informative Amazon product review Marlaine! There is absolutely every thing here to enable a potential buyer to make a proper decision on whether to buy the product or not. I am a bit too old for dressing up in role play costumes but I wish you every success in selling this product to those that are.

    • Marlaine December 19, 2016 at 10:31 pm

      Thanks James! 🙂 Very kind of you.

  7. mariam December 20, 2016 at 11:32 pm

    Marlaine thank you for the Melissa and Doug brand of dress review.
    The different parts it comprises it makes it convenient for a worker. One does not have to buy each tool differently as they are all together.
    Having the accessories that are helpful in building, the hat, overall and walker talker makes it a cool set for the work man.
    What is the material of the apron and cup?

    • Marlaine December 21, 2016 at 6:21 pm

      Hi Miriam, we have a few of other Melissa and Doug role play sets and they are made of 80% Polyester and 20% cotton – nice and thick (like clothes, not stretchy/thin “wear once for Halloween” stuff). I would assume this one is as well.

      I too love the fact that you get the “tools for the job” with the costume. It really helps them get in character!

  8. Helen August 1, 2017 at 1:49 am

    This is such a cute set!!
    I remember when I was little, my parents gave my sister and I these mini walkie talkies. They are even tinier looking back on them now! We had so much fun radioing in to each other. All the hours we wasted!

    Great memories (:

    xx

    Helen

    • Marlaine August 1, 2017 at 5:55 pm

      It’s incredible, isn’t it, how much fun kids can have without a screen in front of them… once they get started? This role play costume set and the fun kids can have with it – and with walkie-talkies like you recall – is something kids will really have a great time using!

      Thanks for commenting, Helen! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

Name *
Email *
Website