Disney Frozen Dress Up Trunk Review: Is It Worth Buying

The Disney Frozen Dress Up Trunk Review - on www.kidslovedressup.com - Is this dress up set worth buying? Disney dress up set, princess sets, dress up clothes frozen, princess gowns set, princess dress up trunk
What you’ll find in the Disney Frozen Dress Up Trunk.

Do you have a big Frozen fan in your life? Are you looking for a great gift for a very decent price for your little Elsa and Anna lover? Perhaps “The Disney Frozen Dress Up Trunk” is the item to purchase. Or perhaps NOT. Let’s take a look.

We’re here to help you figure out if it’s a good buy.

Amazon.com is a great place to find out all sorts of information on a very popular product like the Disney Frozen Dress Up Trunk. I’ve done some reading, note-taking, some digging, and some putting the info together for you. Save you time.

 

First off, the Basic Specs:

  • Price:  $ — see current price  (fluctuates with sales and availability – normally around or under $25, with free shipping often available.)
  • Rating:  4.1/5 stars by over 630 reviewers!
  • Included: 20 Items Total. An Anna and an Elsa dress, two headbands, two necklaces, rings and bracelets, the decorative “reusable” trunk
  • Manufacturer Recommended Age: 36 months – 6 years.
  • Reviewers Recommended Age: 2-7 (depending on child’s size and enjoyment of dress up)
  • Item Weight for Shipping: 1.3 lbs

 

More Detailed Information on the Disney Frozen Dress Up Trunk

The Disney Frozen Dress Up Trunk Review - on www.kidslovedressup.com - Is this dress up set worth buying? Disney dress up set, princess sets, dress up clothes frozen, princess gowns set, princess dress up trunk

After doing a lot of sifting through the reviews (there are 631 at time of writing this post so it took a while), I gathered a fair bit of information about it.

So here’s the most important thing you need to remember when considering this trunk:

 

You get what you pay for!

Don’t expect awesome quality dresses that will stay beautiful for years.

Don’t expect jewelry that is more spectacular than your standard cheap costume jewelry.

Don’t expect a wooden trunk. You aren’t paying what you’d pay for a wooden trunk. 🙂


 

If you like the price though… here’s more info on what you’d be getting with the Disney Frozen Dress Up Trunk!

 

Tell me about the trunk:

  • The Disney Frozen Dress Up Trunk Review - on www.kidslovedressup.com - Is this dress up set worth buying? Disney dress up set, princess sets, dress up clothes frozen, princess gowns set, princess dress up trunkIt’s made of thick, glossy, laminated cardboard. Not plastic. Not wood.  (Yes, not wood… but considering price of the set, that makes sense, doesn’t it? 🙂 )
  • It’s sturdy, but not strong enough to handle children climbing on it.
  • Box size is 14 x 9 x 7.2″
  • ALL commenters who mentioned the trunk say that it’s really cute, lovely, beautifully decorated, etc. Their complaint is that isn’t not extremely durable.
  • Girls can use it as a “Treasure Box” for their Princess dress up items.
  • Comes assembled with the items in a bag inside.

Tell me about the dresses:The Disney Frozen Dress Up Trunk Review - on www.kidslovedressup.com - Is this dress up set worth buying? Disney dress up set, princess sets, dress up clothes frozen, princess gowns set, princess dress up trunk

  • They are washable! Wash on gentle, hang to dry (or dry with very low heat)
  • They have glitter on them, but reviewers say it’s not the kind that comes off.
  • They do not come with a cape.
  • Don’t expect amazing quality. Little Elsa and Anna fans love them, although parents aren’t always impressed by the quality of the cuts, stitches, and fabric. (Again, expect to get what you pay for. On the plus side, commenters mentioned that they feel more comfortable letting their little Princesses wear these cheap dresses everywhere and all the time – like they want to – including to bed or outside… way less fears of wrecking/snagging something more expensive. On the negative side, the dresses ARE inferior in looks and quality to the pricier Elsa and Anna gowns… some commenters said they felt a bit embarrassed about the lower quality look at Frozen Themed parties.)
  • What size are the dresses?

    • It’s a “one size fits all” with elastic and Velcro closures
    • Best for approx. 3-6 year olds from reviewer comments — fitting between 3T-5T
    • Fits to just below knees on most children

Tell Me About The Accessories:The Disney Frozen Dress Up Trunk Review - on www.kidslovedressup.com - Is this dress up set worth buying? Disney dress up set, princess sets, dress up clothes frozen, princess gowns set, princess dress up trunk

  • Not super great quality. (Again, consider the overall cost of this set.)
  • Plastic rings, plastic bracelets
  • Headbands are not “Frozen” branded, but do match the colors and styles of Elsa and Anna
  • Does not come with shoes (like in the picture of the two girls).  See Princess Dress Up Shoes options here.

 

 

 


My Personal Opinion?

 

I would buy the Disney Frozen Dress Up Trunk, easily. And probably will, next birthday.

My daughter is, like many others little girls I know, not always all that careful about her play things… I would much rather see her having a fantastic time playing hard in a cheaper looking gown, really thinking she was Elsa or Anna, than spend bigger bucks on a more authentic or well made looking dress and having to be careful with it. Plus, cheap accessories means it’s ok if we lose some. Because let’s be real… they won’t all stay nicely together in a set. They’ll be under the couch in no time. 😉  And the decorative Frozen trunk? While it lasts, she’ll enjoy it. When it doesn’t look great anymore, I’ll be tossing it.  And not worrying too much because the whole thing didn’t cost me an arm and a leg. 

What do YOU think?

 

Please follow and like us:

22 thoughts on “Disney Frozen Dress Up Trunk Review: Is It Worth Buying

  1. Dan November 25, 2016 at 8:51 pm

    Haha surprisingly enough, I would buy this set just for the box! Kids could have fun with the dresses a few times, but the box could be used for years! Is the Box pretty decent quality for glossy cardboard?

    • Marlaine November 25, 2016 at 11:32 pm

      Depends on the child, I’d say. My kids like to jump on things, so I don’t think it would last long in my house! But yeah, the trunk is really well done, art/design-wise, isn’t it? The dresses… well, my daughter is rather obsessed with Frozen, so I have a feeling in particular the Elsa dress would be on her All.The.Time. 😉

  2. Summerly November 25, 2016 at 9:27 pm

    I think this is a good product. For the price I wouldn’t expect something spectacular, like you mentioned, but then again, for the price, I don’t think you could complain. It will still suit your child’s needs, they just want to dress up like their favourite character, I don’t think they would mind the lower cost. Plus it would be better to lose, or ruin cheaper items than more expensive. I like the trunk and think its a good buy, kinda want one 🙂

    • Marlaine November 25, 2016 at 11:28 pm

      I’m with you, Summerly! If I spent $50 on an Elsa dress, I sure wouldn’t let my daughter run around outside in it, “just in case”! For this cheap price, why not? GO HAVE FUN, MY LITTLE ELSA! 🙂

  3. Andrea November 25, 2016 at 9:57 pm

    What a wonderful idea! Christmas is coming up and this is going to make a perfect present!
    Thanks so much for the detailed review!

    • Marlaine November 25, 2016 at 11:27 pm

      I hear you… it’s a very popular item on Amazon right now. There are going to be a LOT of happy little girls this Christmas, I think!

  4. Lindsey November 25, 2016 at 11:36 pm

    I know a little girl who would love this trunk, regardless of the quality of the dresses or the jewellery. And anyway you put it, good quality or not, it wouldn’t last very long because she would be in them day in and day out. Thanks for the review. Maybe I’ll get her this as a Christmas present.

    • Marlaine November 26, 2016 at 9:25 pm

      I know exactly what you mean… when an outfit is LOVED, it’s worn ALL THE TIME! 🙂 I think it’d be a fun Christmas present for any little girl! Cheers, and Merry Christmas!

  5. Hudha November 26, 2016 at 1:58 am

    Hi Marlaine
    A very interesting and informative website , kids love to dress up boys or girls. Its a wonderful thing to do.
    Boys theme really impress me , may be I have three boys and always searching for boys items.

  6. Rebecca December 21, 2016 at 6:23 pm

    This is super cool! I’ve got a friend with a little girl who is CRAZY over Frozen and princesses in general. (I’ve got twin boys. They’re crazy over dump trucks and superheros.) As a mom, I know that washable dresses (or costumes in general) are the ONLY kind of clothes that really should enter our house. This is going on my “friends with girls” recommendation and gift list. 🙂

    • Marlaine December 21, 2016 at 6:30 pm

      I SO hear you about “washable” being super important, Rebecca! Especially this time of year when chocolate seems to be all over the house, somehow! 🙂

      If you’re interested in taking a peek, I did a post on Boys Superhero Dress Up – and there’s a fun Construction outfit (WASHABLE!) by Melissa & Doug on my Role Play Costumes For Boys post!

      Merry Christmas!

  7. Marcelochelo January 4, 2017 at 12:18 am

    This year we are going to Disney with my whole family, I have s little girl who loves Frozen, I think Anna is her favorite Princess.

    I read a review about buying things outside the parks cause it’s cheaper than inside, I know for sure she will adk a custom like this inside the park, I better go prepare and buy this one right?

    Thank you for your time

    Marcelo

    • Marlaine January 4, 2017 at 1:19 am

      Hi Marcelo,

      Oh wow… I bet you have a little girl who is VERY excited about the idea of a trip to Disney!! How fun!

      I’ve read thousands and thousands of reviews by now on Amazon where people mentioned that they brought dresses for their girls before the trip, and every time they mention they are glad they did. So I’d definitely recommend that too!

      This is a fun set for dress up play, but if you’re looking for a spectacular Anna gown (or Elsa) for her for her trip, check out my post called “Princess Dresses For Little Girls: 10 Seriously Adorable Best-Selling Dresses“. Some incredible dresses for great prices!

      Cheers,

      Marlaine

  8. Yvonne January 7, 2017 at 5:24 am

    I just watched the Frozen movie for the first time about a week ago and absolutely loved it! All the while, I was wondering what the fuss was about. Lol! My 2 girls love Frozen but they don’t play dress up much so I’m not sure if they would be keen on this set. However, if I were to get a Frozen Dress Up clothes, I’d definitely consider this as the price is reasonable. Thanks for the review!

    • Marlaine January 8, 2017 at 3:00 am

      Hi Yvonne,

      We gave Frozen to our daughter for Christmas this year and suddenly our house is full of “do you wanna build a snowman” and “let it go” songs too… it’s pretty cute, isn’t it? I’m a big Disney fan – I’m looking forward to when my kids are big enough to watch more of the feature films!

      This is definitely a good set for the price. Glad the review was to your liking! 🙂

      Cheers,

      Marlaine

  9. elina January 7, 2017 at 7:32 am

    Hi Marlaine. nice review .I being a mom love to dress up my kids .my daughter love to dress like her favorite doll. people going to buy the dresses but I find it tells more about box.
    The dresses with all the accessories can be a good gift as well.Can not expect a very nice quality at the price but kids really don’t care about this.
    Its interesting, may order one for my girl soon.
    Thanks for the review!
    Hope will be back here again.

    • Marlaine January 8, 2017 at 3:02 am

      Hi Elina,

      It’s amazing how we parents seem to care more about awesome quality than kids do, isn’t it? If it looks pretty, and is recognisable as an Elsa dress or an Anna gown, they love it! 🙂 I’m glad I don’t have to spend big bucks to make my kids happy!

      Have a lovely day, and thanks for commenting!

      Marlaine

  10. Jackie July 20, 2017 at 10:04 pm

    This post provided me more information about kids dress up needs then I would have thought I needed. I didn’t take the quality of the trunk into consideration at all when I started reading this. I think for someone without kids thinking of buying this, you provided a heavily detailed review of the product. The set up of the post was also great. Starting out with just the basics and then going into detail because some readers might have made their decision based on the trunk not being wood or plastic. The fact that you took the time to read others reviews of the product and provided the most relevant ones was also a nice touch. I would have had to read through those myself if I was interested in buying this dress up trunk. It showed that you put in the effort so the readers wouldn’t have to. However, I find myself wondering out of those reviews you read if any parents wrote about how much their children enjoyed the dress up trunk? It’s one thing for a parent to feel the dresses are not great quality, but if the children do not notice then what’s the difference?

    • Marlaine July 21, 2017 at 12:27 am

      Hi Jackie,

      You make a great point! Kids don’t seem to care whether or not a costume is great quality… they care if it’s comfortable and makes them look “authentic” (like their favorite character), or simply, if they think they look beautiful/cool/funny wearing the particular dress up clothes. But we parents DO care, don’t we? We want what we spend our dollars on to last longer than just one or two wears… and we don’t want our kids to look ragged in a ripped up costume at that costume party they are invited to! 

      Glad you found the review thorough and relevant! Thanks so much for dropping me a line; I really appreciate it!

  11. Alice September 19, 2017 at 12:49 pm

    Yeah, I think I would probably buy this box if it was something my little ones asked for, it’s a fair price and is something a little different for Frozen fans from all the dolls, singing dolls, hair bands etc. And if it stayed in good condition you could always re-cover it when they grow out of it and use it for another type of storage!

    • Marlaine September 21, 2017 at 6:34 pm

      The Frozen box is a great gift box for kids, I agree! Pretty great price, fun items, cute box!

      And aAh yes, the SINGING ELSA DOLL! I’m SO tired of it right now LOL. I didn’t know it made noise when my daughter picked it out at the thrift store as her prize for doing her chores without complaint. If I had known…!

      Thanks for commenting! Have a great day! 

Leave a Reply

Name *
Email *
Website